MasterCard, VISA, Discover Card or American Express are accepted for payment of registration and housing fees. Payment may be made in person, by mail, or via the web through MyNEVADA.
Personal checks are accepted for payment of fees or bills due the university. The university does not furnish counter checks; and checks altered in any way are not accepted. A $25 collection fee is assessed for any check returned unpaid by the bank. Such checks must be made good within 10 calendar days after notification or suspension procedures are instituted.
Deferred Payment Option
Deferred payment plans are available to students who have a balance owing of $500.00 or more.
There is a $50.00 per semester fee for the deferment plan that will be added to your first bill. If you elect only the housing payment plan, the $50 fee will be assessed and due by the second Housing Payment Plan due date. Please see My NEVADA or the Cashier’s Office website for current payment plan options: http://www.unr.edu/campus-business/units-and-services/cashier/cashier-faq
Any unpaid balance on a deferred fee payment becomes a student accounts receivable on the due date and is treated as an official fee hold for future registration and transcript privileges. A penalty fee of 10 percent is charged on the deferred balance not paid by the due date.
Students or former students having a delinquent account receivable or an overdue loan of any amount with any member institution of the Nevada System of Higher Education shall not be permitted to register, receive a transcript of academic record, a diploma, a certificate or report of semester grades.
Service indicators are placed on University of Nevada, Reno students with a past due amount of $100.00 or more. This includes all tuition and registration fees, financial aid refunds due to the University, mandatory fees, special fees, special course fees and penalty fees. The student or former student may, however, inspect the records under the provisions of the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA).
Grant-In-Aid and Accounts Receivable
Students are expected to pay all assessed fees during registration unless they are entitled to a grant-in-aid, elect the deferred payment plan or make arrangements, prior to the first day of instruction, with the Cashier’s Office.
If you have not made any payments on your account after the first payment is due your courses are subject to cancellation.