University General Course Catalog 2017-2018 
    
    Nov 14, 2019  
University General Course Catalog 2017-2018 ARCHIVED CATALOG: LINKS AND CONTENT ARE OUT OF DATE. CHECK WITH YOUR ADVISOR.

6. Academic Calendar


Fall 2017

April

  • April 7,  Friday | Application Deadline for First Year Applicants

June

  • June 1, Thursday | Deadline for August graduation applications
  • June 15, Thursday | New Transfer Student Orientation 
  • June 19-20, Mon-Tues | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • June 22-23, Thurs-Fri | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • June 26, Monday | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • June 28, Wednesday | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • June 30, Friday | New Undergraduate Student Orientation

July

  • July 1, Saturday | Application Deadline for Transfer/Second Bachelor’s Applicants
  • July 6, Thursday | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • July 8, Saturday | New Transfer Student Orientation
  • July 10-11, Mon-Tues | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • July 13-14, Thurs-Fri | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • July 17, Monday | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • July 19, Wednesday | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • July 21, Friday | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • July 24-25, Mon-Tues | New Undergraduate Student Orientation
  • July 31, Monday | New Transfer Student Orientation

August

  • August 11, Friday | Deadline for submitting thesis/dissertation and Notice of Completion with Grad School for August graduation
  • August 18, Friday
    • Application Deadline for Non-Degree/Graduate Special Applicants
    • Final day to apply for change of residency for Fall Semester
  • August 21, Monday | Fall Semester Faculty reporting date
  • August 24, Thursday
    • New Graduate Student Orientation/Reception
    • All residence halls open at 10:00 a.m., except Canada and Sierra
  • August 25, Friday
    • Final day for initial registration
    • Fall Semester fees due; final day to pay all fees without incurring late payment fees
    • First payment due for those students on payment plan
    • Opening Ceremony
    • Canada and Sierra residence halls open at 10:00 a.m.
  • August 26, Saturday | Late fees assessed
  • August 28, Monday | First Day of Classes

September

  • September 1, Friday | Final day to add or swap classes without permission from instructor
  • September 4, Monday | Labor Day (no classes, campus closed)
  • September 7, Thursday
    • Final day to receive 100% refund if dropping individual classes or completely withdrawing from the university
    • Final day to change from a letter grade to S/U or S/U to a letter grade or audit to credit
    • Final day to add or swap classes with permission from instructor
    • No refunds after this date unless completely withdrawing from the university; 50% refund for complete withdrawal begins
  • September 25, Monday | Second fee payment due for those on payment plan

October

  • October 1, Sunday | Deadline for December graduation applications
  • October 6, Friday | Final day to request a 50% refund if completely withdrawing from the university
  • October 25, Wednesday | Final fee payment due for those on payment plan
  • October 27, Friday | Nevada Day (no classes; campus closed)

November 

  • November 2, Thursday
    • Final day to drop classes and receive a “W”
    • Final day to change from credit to audit
    • No dropping of individual classes after this deadline
  • November 10, Friday | Veteran’s Day observed (no classes; campus closed)
  • November 22, Wednesday | Notice of Completion due for doctoral students being hooded during December commencement
  • November 23, Thursday | Thanksgiving Day (no classes; campus closed)
  • November 24, Friday | Family Day (no classes; campus closed)

December

  • December 8, Friday | Final day for submitting thesis/dissertation and notice of completion with Graduate School for December graduation
  • December 9, Saturday | COMMENCEMENT
  • December 13, Wednesday | Prep Day (no classes - campus open)
  • December 14, Thursday | Final class meeting week begins
  • December 20, Wednesday | INSTRUCTION ENDS
  • December 22, Friday | Fall semester ends - last day faculty on campus for fall semester
  • December 25, Monday | Christmas Holiday (campus closed)
  • December 26, Tuesday | Faculty to post final grades in MyNEVADA - 5 p.m.

FALL SEMESTER 2017

Number of Class Days (Monday, Aug. 28 , through Wednesday, Dec 20. ): 16 Mondays, 17 Tuesdays, 16 Wednesdays, 15 Thursdays, 13 Fridays = 77 days.

Spring 2018

November 

  • November 1, Wednesday | Enrollment for Wintermester and Spring 2018 begins

December 

  • December 15, Friday | Application Deadline for First Year, Transfer, and Second Bachelor’s Applicants
  • December 29, Friday | Wintermester fees due (without late fee); bills will not be sent

January 

  • January 1, Monday | New Year’s Day (campus closed)
  • January 2, Tuesday | Wintermester Instruction begins; late registration begins
  • January 3, Wednesday
    • Final day to receive a full refund for Wintermester classes
    • Final Day to add Wintermester classes
    • Final Day to change Wintermester classes from audit to credit, letter grade to S/U or S/U to letter grade
    • Final Day to receive 100% refund of Wintermester classes
  • January 4, Thursday | Final Day to receive a 50% refund for Wintermester classes; a “W” will appear on transcripts
  • January 11, Thursday
    • Final Day to drop Wintermester classes and receive a “W” 
    • Final Day to change Wintermester classes from credit to audit
    • Final Day to withdraw from Wintermester classes
  • January 12, Friday
    • Application Deadline for NonDegree/Graduate Special Applicants
    • Final Day to apply for change of residency for the spring semester
  • January 15, Monday | Martin Luther King Day (campus closed)
  • January 16, Tuesday | Spring Semester faculty reporting date
  • January 18, Thursday | New Graduate Student Orientation/Reception
  • January 19, Friday
    • Spring Semester fees due; final day to pay without incurring late payment fees
    • First payment due for those students on a payment plan
    • Final day for initial registration for spring
    • Wintermester instruction ends
    • New Student Orientation
  • January 20, Saturday | Late fees assessed
  • January 21, Sunday | Residence Halls open
  • January 22, Monday
    • FIRST DAY OF CLASSES
    • Final grades for Wintermester due in MyNevada by 5:00 p.m.
  • January 26, Friday | Final day to add classes without permission from the instructor
  • January 31, Wednesday
    • Final day to receive 100% refund if dropping individual classes or completely withdrawing from the university
    • No refunds after this date unless completely withdrawing from the university; 50% refund for complete withdrawal begins
    • Final day to add or swap classes with the permission from the instructor
    • Final day to change a course from letter grade to S/U or S/U to letter grade or audit to credit

February 

  • February 19, Monday
    • President’s Day (no classes; campus closed)
    • Second fee payment due for those on payment plan

March

  • March 1, Thursday | Deadline for May graduation applications
  • March 2, Friday | Final day to request a 50% refund if completely withdrawing from the university
  • March 17-25 | Spring Break (no classes; campus open)
  • March 19, Monday | Final fee payment due for those on payment plan
  • March 26, Monday | Summer Session registration begins

April 

  • April 2, Monday | Fall 2018 registration begins 
  • April 3, Tuesday
    • Final day to drop classes and receive a “W”
    • Final day to change from credit to audit
    • No dropping of individual classes after this date
  • April 7, Saturday | Application Deadline for Fall 2018 for First Year applicants

May 

  • May 4, Friday | Notice of Completion due for doctoral students being hooded during May Commencement
  • May 9, Wednesday | Prep Day (no classes; campus open)
  • May 10, Thursday | Final class meeting week begins
  • May 11, Friday | Final date for submitting thesis/dissertation and notice of completion with Graduate School for May graduation
  • May 15, Tuesday | “Honor the Best” Celebration
  • May 16, Wednesday | INSTRUCTION ENDS
  • May 17, Thursday | Commencement
  • May 18, Friday | Commencement
  • May 19, Saturday | Commencement
  • May 21, Monday 
    • Faculty to post final grades in MyNEVADA - 5 p.m.
    • Spring semester ends-last day faculty on campus for spring semester
  • May 28, Monday | Memorial Day (campus closed; no classes)

 

SPRING SEMESTER 2018

Number of Class Days (Monday, Jan. 22 , through Wednesday, May 16 ): 15 Mondays, 16 Tuesdays, 15 Wednesdays, 15 Thursdays, 15 Fridays = 76 days.

Summer 2018

May 

  • May 18, Friday | Final day to pay all Mini-session tuition & regular session fees before late registration fees are assessed
  • May 21, Monday 
    • MINI-SESSION CLASSES BEGIN
    • REGULAR SESSION CLASSES BEGIN
  • May 22, Tuesday
    • Final day to add mini-session classes
    • Final day to receive 100% refund for mini-session classes
    • Final day to change a mini-session class from letter grade to S/U or S/U to letter grade or audit to credit
  • May 23, Wednesday | Final day to drop mini-session classes and receive a 50% refund
  • May 28, Monday | Memorial Day (no classes; campus closed)
  • May 31, Thursday | Final day to change mini-session from credit to audit

June

  • June 1, Friday 
    • Deadline for August graduation applications
    • Final day to withdraw from mini-session classes and receive a “W”
  • June 8, Friday 
    • MINI-SESSION INSTRUCTION ENDS
    • Final day to pay all 1st session tuition & fees before late registration fees are assessed
  • June 11, Monday 
    • Faculty to post final grades for mini-session in MyNEVADA - 5 p.m.
    • FIRST-SESSION CLASSES BEGIN
  • June 13, Wednesday
    • Final day to receive 100% refund for first-session classes
    • Final day to add classes for first-session
    • Final day to change a first-session class from letter grade to S/U or S/U to letter grade or audit to credit
  • June 15, Friday | Final day to drop first-session classes and receive a 50% refund
  • June 28, Thursday | Final day to change first-session from credit to audit
  • June 29, Friday | Final day to withdraw from first-session classes and receive a “W”

July 

  • July 1, Sunday 
    • Application Deadline for Transfer/Second Bachelor’s applicants
    • Priority deadline for WUE consideration for new transfer students admitted for Fall 2018
    • Priority deadline for Nevada Advantage consideration for new transfer students admitted for Fall 2018
  • July 4, Wednesday | Independence Day observed (no classes; campus closed)
  • July 13, Friday
    • FIRST-SESSION INSTRUCTION ENDS
    • Final day to pay all 2nd session tuition & fees before late registration fees are assessed
    • Final day to withdraw from regular-session classes and receive a “W”
  • July 15, Sunday
    • Priority deadline for WUE consideration for new first year students admitted for Fall 2018
    • Priority deadline for Nevada Advantage consideration for new first year students admitted for Fall 2018
  • July 16, Monday
    • Faculty to post final grades for first-session in MyNEVADA - 5 p.m.
    • SECOND SESSION CLASSES BEGIN
  • July 18, Wednesday 
    • Final day to receive 100% refund for second-session classes
    • Final day to add second-session classes
    • Final day to change a second-session class from letter grade to S/U or S/U to letter grade or audit to credit
  • July 20, Friday | Final day to drop second-session classes and receive a 50% refund

August

  • August 2, Thursday | Final day to change second-term from credit to audit
  • August 3, Friday | Final day to withdraw from second-session classes and receive a “W”
  • August 10, Friday | Deadline for submitting thesis/dissertation and Notice of Completion with Grad School for August graduation
  • August 16, Thursday | SECOND SESSION INSTRUCTION ENDS
  • August 17, Friday
    • Application deadline for NonDegree/Graduate Special applicants
    • Faculty to post final grades for second session in MyNEVADA - 5 p.m.
  • August TBA | New Undergraduate Student Orientation sessions